Photo

Grizzlies being given opportunity to leave? Hope not!

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 BealeSt.BlueBleeder

BealeSt.BlueBleeder

Starter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 367 posts

Posted 18 December 2008 - 07:41 PM

I thought of something today that kind of made me wonder. If the city turns the pyramid into something instead of keeping it as an arena,doesn't that break the agreement that they have with the grizzlies? Does that give the grizzlies to opportunity to leave if the agreement is broken by the city? I've been hearing for a few years how in the grizzlies agreement with the city of memphis that once fedexforum opens,the city has to have a back up arena in case of emergency with the forum. Meaning in case of some unforseen event occuring and the forum is unavailable the grizz need a back up arena to play in. Now let's not fool anyone. The coliseum probably couldn't serve as a backup for a NBDL team! So why aren't the grizz mentioning this to the city. Why aren't they stepping in and reminding city and county officials the pyramid is their backup facility. If the grizzlies ever do decide to leave,would the city even have a chance should a lawsuit come up,because after all wouldn't they been the ones to have broken the agreement by not keeping the pyramid as a backup arena? What if they came up with an agreement to use an arena in little rock or somewhere? Would that count since the building isn't actually in memphis? What do you all think about this?

#2 ojnum1

ojnum1

Rookie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 December 2008 - 07:52 PM

i live in nashville but love the grizzlies. i only get to see there games on TV but the attendance looks EXTREMELY pitiful. is it better then it looks because i want the grizz to stay?

#3 BealeSt.BlueBleeder

BealeSt.BlueBleeder

Starter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 367 posts

Posted 18 December 2008 - 07:53 PM

QUOTE (ojnum1 @ Dec 18 2008, 07:52 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>